Our Story

Looking Glass Community Services is a 501 (c) (3) non-profit organization that has been dedicated to serving Lane County since 1970. Over the past 45 years, our organization has grown, and so have the services we provide. In addition to providing comprehensive services to teens in crisis, Looking Glass has established programming for children and adults, allowing us to provide outstanding care to a larger portion of our community. Our programs span the diverse fields of mental health, alcohol and drug abuse support, basic human services, juvenile justice, education, youth development, and workforce readiness.

Our Mission

Our mission is to “build a better future for children, youth, adults, and families by helping them navigate the challenges of childhood, adolescence, and adulthood.” In the 45 years of its operation, Looking Glass established a reputation as the leader in supportive services to youth and families in Lane County. We partner with over 35 local providers, government agencies, and community leaders to provide essential social services. We are licensed and evaluated by the Oregon Department of Human Services, the Oregon Youth Authority, the Oregon Health Authority, and the State Department of Education.  In 2006, Looking Glass achieved national accreditation through the Council on Accreditation (COA) in New York.  We undergo regular, rigorous program-wide evaluations in order to maintain our accreditation, confirming our use of best-practice standards, high quality of services, and continual efforts to strengthen service provision.  Last year, 8,038 clients struggling with addiction, homelessness, abuse, education deficits, and mental illness turned to our programs for assistance.  We are committed to helping our clients develop the skills they need to navigate life’s challenges, so that they can lead healthier, happier, and more productive lives.

Our Team

Administrative Team:

Craig Opperman, President and Chief Executive Officer
craig.opperman@lookingglass.us

Chad Westphal, Chief Operations Officer
chad.westphal@lookingglass.us

Madison Skriver, Executive Assistant & Quality Assurance Coordinator
madison.skriver@lookingglass.us

Marie Jackson, Finance Director
marie.jackson@lookingglass.us

Josh Smith, Human Resources Director
josh.smith@lookingglass.us

Tammy Roberts, Director of Development
tammy.roberts@lookingglass.us

Barbi McLain, Grant Writer
barbi.mclain@lookingglass.us

Lauren Walbridge, Event Coordinator
lauren.walbridge@lookingglass.us

General Questions
admin@lookingglass.us


Program Directors:

Devin Jenkins, Residential Services Director
devin.jenkins@lookingglass.us

Kirstin London, Runaway and Homeless Youth Services Director
kirstin.london@lookingglass.us

Elizabeth Schwarz, Counseling Services Director
elizabeth.schwarz@lookingglass.us

Lynda Whitener, Center Point School Director
lynda.whitener@lookingglass.us

Cheryl Zwillinger, Riverfront School and Career Center Director
cheryl.zwillinger@lookingglass.us

Annual Report

Download our annual report for more information on our programs, the people we serve, and our financials.